Thursday, December 15, 2011

SMU Jazz Workshop Combos to perform free concert Dec. 18

Members of the "Lucky Seven" Jazz Combo include; Jacquelyn Bongard,
alto sax; A. Eric Heukeshoven, trombone/director; Joshua Rumppe,
piano; and Talib Khan on alto sax.

Two jazz workshop combos from the Music Department will present a free concert from 2 to 4 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 18, at the Acoustic CafĂ©, 77 Lafayette St. Included will be the “Lucky 7” Jazz Combo, directed by Eric Heukeshoven and the “Heavy Metal Jazz Combo,” directed by Dr. John Paulson. The free concert will feature student musicians who have been playing together all semester, and it will serve as their “final exam.” They’ll be playing well-known jazz standards by composers like Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter and Miles Davis, as well as some unique hybrid arrangements of popular jazz tunes blended with familiar Christmas tunes by Heukeshoven.