Thursday, January 29, 2015

Biology news

Clinton Nienhaus '13 (Environmental Biology major) was awarded the 2014 Young Birder Award by the Minnesota Ornithologists' Union (MOU). The award is presented to someone younger than 25 who has made a significant contribution to birding in Minnesota. Incidentally, another award given by the MOU, the Brother Theodore Voelker Award  for special achievement in field ornithology, is named after a former member of the Saint Mary’s faculty.

Additionally, Dr. Phil Cochran (Biology Department) has just started a term on the board of directors of the National Trout Center in Preston, Minn. One of his priorities will be to increase opportunities for student intern involvement in the activities of the center.