Thursday, April 25, 2013

Students receive Beta Beta Beta awards

Bridget Richardson and Katie Smith
Ten biology students and one biochemistry student attended the Iowa Academy of Science (IAS) /NC-3 Beta Beta Beta convention at Simpson College on April 19-20 in Indianola, Iowa.

Two students received awards from Beta Beta Beta. For the John J. Johnson award for best poster, Katie Smith won first place with her poster titled, “The effects of in utero exposure to Atrazine on the hematopoietic system in mus musculus” (Dr. Debra Martin advisor).  Winning second place for the Frank G. Brook award for best paper (oral) presentation was Bridget Richardson with her presentation “The antibacterial effectiveness of the goggle sanitizer which uses UV radiation as a means of disinfection” (Dr. Jeanne Minnerath advisor).

Also attending from SMU were Aaron Henry, Catherine Gas, Jacinta Jude, Mary Gerty, Megan Johnson, Clinton Nienhaus, Mark Ross, Bridget Trio, Marissa Wollak, Dr. Debra Martin (BBB NC-3 district director) and Dr. Jeanne Minnerath (Biology Department).