Thursday, May 1, 2014

Saint Mary’s presents Student Life awards

Saint Mary’s recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff Wednesday, April 23, at the Student Life Awards Ceremony. Individuals who have exhibited outstanding leadership and service through co-curricular activities at Saint Mary’s were recognized.

Awards included:

Brother Finbar McMullen Award (presented to an SMU community member who demonstrates him/herself to be an individual who unselfishly meets the needs of the undergraduate students of Saint Mary’s) — Brother Lawrence Humphrey, FSC, assistant vice president for mission

Charlene “Char” Tjaden Outstanding Resident Assistant Award — Theresa LaValla

Intramural Official of the Year — Courtney Euerle

Outdoor Leadership Recognition — Jamie Herrick, strength and conditioning coach, physical education instructor and facilities assistant, as well as ropes course facilitator

Club/Organization of the Year — Big and Little Pals (accepted by Mae Yang and Kacie Kusinski)

Outstanding Student Senator of the Year Award — Miles Dunna

Club and Organization Advisor of the Year — Steven McGlaun, dean of campus ministry

Winona Community Service Award — Katie Wall

Saint Benilde Award (presented to students who reach out to new members of the university community, are inclusive and inspiring, and lead by being hospitable, open and accepting) — Sarah McNary

Brother James Miller Award (presented to a student who has dedicated his/her college experience to promoting the legacy of Brother James Miller, spreading the compassion of God and continually serving the community) — Elizabeth Arnold

Brother Charlie Burke Award (presented to a faculty or staff member who has made significant contributions to the entire Student Life Department. This individual has promoted the growth of the whole student through their exemplary standard of ethical service, dedication to creating developmental relationships, and their desire to promote lifelong learning) — Lance Thompson, director of student activities

Student Service Award — Abi Osborne

Leadership Certificate (presented to students who have completed the co-curricular program designed to give both emerging and advanced leaders the skills and knowledge to enhance his or her leadership development) — Samantha Borawski, Maetzin Cruz-Reyes, Conner Ellinghuysen, Hannah Friedrich, Peter Hegland, Jose Herra, Elisabeth Ortega, Christine Volk and Emily Weber.