Thursday, April 18, 2013

DES inducts new members, congratulates award winners

Saint Mary’s Delta Epsilon Sigma (DES) chapter congratulates the following students. Delta Epsilon Sigma is a national scholastic honor society for colleges and universities with a Catholic tradition.

The executive committee of the National Delta Epsilon Sigma organization selected Sarah Anderson, a biology pre-physical therapy major, to receive a Fellowship for Graduate Study. In addition, the executive committee selected Amanda Weber, a psychology major, to receive a Scholarship for Undergraduate Study. Only 12 students were selected from national pools of applicants for these two awards.

Further, Anna Sonday, a history and business marketing major, received the National Student Award recognizing her outstanding scholarship and service.

The 2012-2013 annual DES chapter induction involved moderator Dr. Shelly McCallum welcoming 41 juniors and seniors, and three faculty members into DES.

New Inductees

Marta Aleszewicz, Julianne Bartosz, Jacquelyn Bongard, Peter Borash, Kaylee Jo Bunne, Sarah Collova, Clinton Coulter, Jacquelyn Delfosse, Shelby DeWall, Sr. Mary Hanah Doak, Yasmin Duarte, Dylan Ethen, Loren Galloway, Maria Glenski, Gabriel Grundtner, Andrea Hillesheim, Grace Hoffman, Kelsey Hulbert, Steven Lehn, Jessika Lukes, Jillian Martin, Peter McColl, Elizabeth Niedbala, LeiLani Oas, Lisa Obasi, Samuel Pflughoeft, Angela, Powell, Bethany Rajdl, Maija Rannikko, Matthew Rice, Bethany Schmidt, Katherine Smith, John Soucheray, Amy Spitzmueller, Kristen Thelen, Gabriel Thiel, Matthew Traxler, Amanda Weber, Kristin Wilkes, Anastasia Willard, Katherine Zuzek

Dr. Jeanne Minnerath, Lawrence Price and Dr. Kevin Rickert